GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held at 7.59 pm on 16 May 2018

Present:

Councillor Pauline Tunnicliffe (Chairman)
Councillor Michael Turner (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Marina Ahmad, Gareth Allatt, Vanessa Allen,
Nicholas Bennett J.P., Mary Cooke, Robert Evans,
Russell Mellor, Alexa Michael, Tony Owen,
Neil Reddin FCCA, Melanie Stevens, Harry Stranger and
Stephen Wells

Also Present:

Other Members of the Council

1 PROPORTIONALITY OF SUB-COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the proportionality of Sub-Committees be agreed as follows –

	Size	Conservative	Labour	Independent
Audit Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Industrial Relations Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Local Joint Consultative Cttee	9	8	1	0
Pensions Investment Sub- Committee	7	6	1	0
Rights of Way Sub-Committee	7	6	1	0

2 MEMBERSHIP OF SUB-COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the following Sub-Committees be appointed for the 2018/19 municipal year with the membership as agreed below.

(i) AUDIT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors	
1	Neil Reddin (Ch)	
2	William Huntington-Thresher (VC)	
3	Gareth Allatt	
4	Robert Evans	
5	Christopher Marlow	
6	Tony Owen	
7	lan Dunn (LAB)	

(ii) INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE (to include Leader, Deputy Leader, Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.)

	Councillors	
1	Colin Smith (Ch)	
2	Peter Fortune (VC)	
3	David Cartwright	
4	Simon Fawthrop	
5	Pauline Tunnicliffe	
6	Michael Turner	
7	Josh King (LAB)	

(iii) LOCAL JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (to include Leader or named Deputy, Chairman of Executive & Resources, Policy Development and Scrutiny Committee or named Deputy and Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee or named Deputy)

	Councillors
1	Russell Mellor (Ch)
2	Nicholas Bennett
3	David Cartwright
4	Simon Fawthrop
5	Kate Lymer
6	Colin Smith
7	Pauline Tunnicliffe
8	Michael Turner
9	Josh King (LAB)
	(Other members to be
	appointed by the Staff-side.)

(iv) PENSIONS INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	Keith Onslow (Ch)
2.	Russell Mellor (VC)
3	Gareth Allatt

4	Simon Fawthrop
5	David Jefferys
6	Gary Stevens
7	Simon Jeal (LAB)

(v) RIGHTS OF WAY SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors	
1	Michael Rutherford (Ch)	
2	Mike Botting (VC)	
3	Harry Stranger	
4	Michael Tickner	
5	Michael Turner	
6	Stephen Wells	
7	Vanessa Allen (LAB)	

3 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the following Councillors be appointed as Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.

(1) Audit Sub-Committee

Councillor Neil Reddin and Councillor William Huntington-Thresher

(2) Industrial Relations Sub-Committee

Councillor Colin Smith and Councillor Peter Fortune

(3) Local Joint Consultative Committee

Councillor Russell Mellor

(4) Pensions Investment Sub-Committee

Councillor Keith Onslow and Councillor Russell Mellor

(5) Rights of Way Sub-Committee

Councillor Michael Rutherford and Councillor Mike Botting

4 APPOINTMENT OF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

RESOLVED that

- (1) All Members of the Council, except Executive Members, be eligible for appointment to the Appeals Sub-Committee.
- (2) Three Members be drawn as required, to constitute an Appeals Sub-Committee.

(3) The Chairman be appointed at each meeting of the Appeals Sub-Committee.

5 APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

RESOLVED that

- (1) All Members of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be eligible for appointment to the Licensing Sub-Committee.
- (2) Three Members be drawn as required, to constitute a Licensing Sub-Committee.
- (3) The Chairman be appointed at each meeting of the Licensing Sub-Committee.

The Meeting ended at 8.00 pm

Chairman